What Kind of Licensing Do You Need to Ride a Motorcycle in Arizona?
Any two-wheeled vehicles with engines over 100cc require a motorcycle license. If you are adding a motorcycle license to an existing driver’s license, it is called a motorcycle endorsement.
Anyone over 15 ½ years of age is eligible to begin the process of getting a motorcycle license. Licensed drivers 18 years or older seeking a motorcycle endorsement have fewer hoops to jump through.
Aspiring motorcyclists under 18 years of age must first have a driver’s permit or license (class G), plus an Arizona motorcycle instruction permit.
To qualify for a permit, Arizona Motor Vehicle Services, or MVD, requires that you pass a written test. If you do not already possess a driver’s permit, you can take both tests at the same time. Either way, you must pass both tests before you are issued a motorcycle learner’s permit.
The motorcycle driver’s permit is valid for 7 months.
Motorcycle Drivers Education
During the 7-month permit period, you will be required to either complete a motorcycle driver education course (approved by the MVD) or complete 30 hours of motorcycle driving under the supervision of a parent or guardian.
If you cannot complete either of the options above within 7 months, then your permit is eligible for one renewal within 2 years of when the permit was first issued.
For candidates 18 years or older, it is not necessary to complete the motorcycle driver education course or 30 hours of supervised driving.
Class M License
To acquire your motorcycle license or endorsement (known as your class M license/endorsement), you must be at least 16 years old. If you are under 18, then you will be required to have held a motorcycle learner’s permit for at least 6 months. Additionally, you will have either completed a motorcycle education course or 30 hours of supervised driving, as said above.
Those 18 years or older may proceed with the written and skills testing without having a learner’s permit or completing the education course.
Getting a motorcycle license requires that the candidate complete both the written and skills testing. Arizona encourages you to take a motorcycle safety course approved by the MVD. Upon completion of the course, you will receive a certificate that satisfies state requirements for written and skills testing.
If you choose to forego the motorcycle safety course, the Arizona MVD encourages you to view the Motorcycle Safety Presentation online before beginning your written and skills testing.
After passing the written and skills testing, Arizona will perform a medical screening and vision test to confirm that you are physically able to drive a motorcycle.
A motorcycle license or endorsement is valid until age 65. You will be required to take a vision test every 12 years. If you are over 60 years old, you will be issued a license requiring renewal every 5 years.
It is no secret that motorcycle driving can be dangerous. As such, Arizona expects motorcyclists to exercise the utmost care while driving. Drivers under 18 years of age are required by law to wear a helmet, and all motorcyclists are strongly encouraged to wear a helmet. Because motorcycles can easily fall into a vehicle’s “blind spot,” Arizona law prohibits lane splitting.
Arizona also expects other drivers to keep an eye out for motorcyclists. Motorists failing to look out for and exercise caution around motorcycles may be held responsible for injuries to motorcyclists in the event of an accident.
For more information about how an Arizona motorcycle accident attorney can help you with your case, contact Ray Arenofsky at 480-345-0444 or visit our website.